All you ever need to know about pinning like a pro

I mean medical professional. Not body builder.

OK - I'm new to contributing to MG but this is something I'm pretty sure I know better than most. As a former Level 1 trauma paramedic and also having a Nurse Practitioner for a wife, it's safe to say I know injections. Nothing here will be "Bro" science but actual medical fact or practice that you would see everyday in every hospital in the USA. This is mainly for the beginner who is new to self injections but vets might find some of this info useful too.

Before getting started I want to say that if you can't give yourself an injection or it freaks you out. DON"T DO AAS! Stay Natty! Needles are a fact of life in this activity and if you can't stick yourself with one, go play with the little kids on the other side of the playground.

Also, every state has different rules but if your lucky like me and your state doesn't have laws on buying syringes, needles etc I am about to save you all kinds of time, money and pain. If your state is strict, well I'm sorry, you're stuck getting what you can.

With that out of the way...

What size syringe? 3ml minimum but 5ml will be OK too. Larger or smaller than this is just useless or awkward. Syringes are cheap so I keep both on hand but I do find 5ml easier to hold when reaching around myself to pin either shoulders or hips. I suggest B&D luer-lock but use whatever you like best.

What gauge needle? You are going to have to experiment here. Depending on the labs, the same AAS can have varying viscosity from one brand to the next but here is what the medical industry is going to use: 23 gauge for oil based IM (intramuscular) injection.